Making Me Happy: Health Goals

Standard

So… I’m giving The 17 Day Diet a try. It’s not an extreme diet, at least not for me, since it’s full of veggies and protein supplemented with pro-biotic foods and fruit, with a smidgen of good fat (olive oil for example). Then the plan changes a little for the second 17 day cycle. It runs through 4 cycles. I want to lose 30 pounds and improve my nutrition and activity level. This diet (I hate that word, it’s more a reconditioning) incorporates exercise and helps you develop good food habits over time. Here’s the breakdown:

Cycle 1: Accelerate (17 Days)

Improves digestive health and boost fat burning.

Dates: July 9, 2011 – July 25, 2011

Cycle 2: Activate (17 Days)

Resets metabolism with caloric confusion to help prevent plateaus.

Dates: July 26, 2011 – August 11, 2011

Cycle 3: Achieve (17 Days)

Re-introduction of additional foods to help reach goal weight.

Dates: August 12, 2011 – August 28, 2011

Cycle 4: Arrive (ongoing)

Adjusting foods so that weight and habits are maintained.

Dates: August 29, 2011 –

The cycles can be repeated as necessary to get the goals accomplished. Breaking the plan into 17 day chunks makes it seem like it’s not such a daunting task. Anything can be done for 2.5 weeks, right? The biggest drawbacks for me are the removal of starchy foods for 17 days and getting up and moving every day. My large rear end is rather comfy to sit on. lol Seriously, though, I love to dance, so I’m going to do that for exercise. I’m going to give Zumba a try. I also can swim whenever I want or go for walks. I bought some sugar snap peas and put them in serving sized snack baggies to sub for my typical snack… chips or popcorn. I’m going to blog daily with my morning weigh-in and my thoughts on how the day went on the diet. I really want the weight gone, so I’m going to do my very best to stick with it.

Leave a Reply

