Back to Hooking!

Standard

As it pertains to crochet. Get your mind out of the gutter! lol I came across a cute little brooch pattern on Ravelry called Swirly Brooch. I loved the look of it and decided to give it a try. It’s a Pay It Forward gift for Heather LaBelle in her favorite colors. I think it kind of looks like African Violets… in a kind of abstract way. I can’t want to give it to her. I hope she loves it.

I used size 10 crochet thread in the following brands/colors:

Caron Grandma’s Best Mercerized Cotton – 92 Purple

Coats Aunt Lydia’s Classic Crochet Thread – 0449 Forrest Green

J. & P. Coats Royale – 495 Wood Violet and 484 Myrtle Green

Size 2 steel crochet hook

I used vintage Zayre polyester sewing thread in a deep purple to attach the swirls to a sterling silver pin back.

I loved working on this. I think it took me two evenings, with distractions, so maybe 3 hours total. I think I’m going to have to make lots of these to have on hand as gifts to give. It would be lovely with beads and/or metallic thread, too.

Tip Junkie handmade projects

button

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

