Review: Ethnic Gourmet Frozen Entrees

Standard

I know these products are not new, but they are new to me. I just recently found them in my local grocery stores and since I love Indian and Thai food I figured I’d try them and let you all know what I thought of them. I was not paid to give this review, and the company and I are in no way affiliated. I bought the entrees that I am reviewing.

Taste of India

Chicken Korma

Packaging: The images on the box are fairly appealing. The box itself is very colorful and attention grabbing, which is good considering both of my local stores that carry these have them on the bottom shelves of the freezer case. Cooking directions are isolated on the top edge of the box.

Directions: Clear and easily followed. However, I found that following them exactly created a HUGE mess in my microwave. So, after cooking for the first 4 minutes I removed the cover (on 3 sides, with the 4th side still attached), stirred, and then recovered to cook the remaining 2 minutes. I find this also keeps the rice more moist.

Appearance: The food looks similar to the image on the package.

Flavor: The package states this dish is medium spiced. I disagree. This has a very mild flavor and would be better classified as mildly spiced. The sauce is a bit thin.

Texture: The chicken is slightly dry, but that’s expected in most freezer entrees. The peas and rice are moist if the cooking is altered like I mentioned above. If the cooking is not altered the rice and peas are also dry.

Overall Impression: This is a good dish. It’s mild flavor is not something I would want frequently, but I will buy this one again pretty often.

Chicken Tandoori with Spinach

Packaging: The images on the box are fairly appealing. The box itself is very colorful and attention grabbing, which is good considering both of my local stores that carry these have them on the bottom shelves of the freezer case. Cooking directions are isolated on the top edge of the box.

Directions: Clear and easily followed. However, I found that following them exactly created a HUGE mess in my microwave. So, after cooking for the first 4 minutes I removed the cover (on 3 sides, with the 4th side still attached), stirred, and then recovered to cook the remaining 2 minutes. I find this also keeps the rice more moist.

Appearance: The food looks similar to the image on the package, but the chicken is in small bits, not in chunks like on the box.

Flavor: The package states this dish is medium spiced. I agree. This has a lingering warmth and a pleasant smooth flavor due to the spinach.

Texture: The chicken is slightly dry, but that’s expected in most freezer entrees. The peas and rice are moist if the cooking is altered like I mentioned above. If the cooking is not altered the rice and peas are also dry.

Overall Impression: This is a good dish, but not one I would regularly buy. It just wasn’t a flavor that I would care to eat regularly.

Chicken Tikka Masala

Packaging: The images on the box are fairly appealing. The box itself is very colorful and attention grabbing, which is good considering both of my local stores that carry these have them on the bottom shelves of the freezer case. Cooking directions are isolated on the top edge of the box.

Directions: Clear and easily followed. However, I found that following them exactly created a HUGE mess in my microwave. So, after cooking for the first 4 minutes I removed the cover (on 3 sides, with the 4th side still attached), stirred, and then recovered to cook the remaining 2 minutes. I find this also keeps the rice more moist.

Appearance: The food looks similar to the image on the package, but the chicken is in small bits, not in chunks like on the box.

Flavor: The package states this dish is mildly spiced. I actually think it should be classified as moderately spiced. It has a lingering warmth after eating that I believe pushes it above mild spice. I’m not going to say this tastes as good as restaurant Chicken Tikka Masala, but it’s a tasty frozen substitute.

Texture: The chicken is slightly dry, but that’s expected in most freezer entrees. The peas and rice are moist if the cooking is altered like I mentioned above. If the cooking is not altered the rice and peas are also dry. The sauce is a little thin, but not terribly so.

Overall Impression: This is my favorite of all the Ethnic Gourmet entrees and I will continue to purchase this one regularly.

Palak Paneer

Packaging: The images on the box are fairly appealing. The box itself is very colorful and attention grabbing, which is good considering both of my local stores that carry these have them on the bottom shelves of the freezer case. Cooking directions are isolated on the top edge of the box.

Directions: Clear and easily followed. However, I found that following them exactly created a HUGE mess in my microwave. So, after cooking for the first 4 minutes I removed the cover (on 3 sides, with the 4th side still attached), stirred, and then recovered to cook the remaining 2 minutes. I find this also keeps the rice more moist.

Appearance: The food looks similar to the image on the package, but the chicken is in small bits, not in chunks like on the box.

Flavor: The package states this dish is medium spiced. I agree.  It has a lingering warmth after eating that I believe pushes it above mild spice. This has a very rich flavor from the cheese and spinach.

Texture: The cheese is slightly dry, but that’s expected in most freezer entrees. The peas and rice are moist if the cooking is altered like I mentioned above. If the cooking is not altered the rice and peas are also dry.

Overall Impression: Overall I was not really impressed with the combination of flavors in this dish. I will not be purchasing this one again.

Taste of Thai

Chicken Pad Thai

Packaging: The images on the box are fairly appealing. The box itself is very colorful and attention grabbing, which is good considering both of my local stores that carry these have them on the bottom shelves of the freezer case. Cooking directions are isolated on the top edge of the box.

Directions: Clear and easily followed.

Appearance: The food looks similar to the image on the package, but the chicken is in small bits, not in chunks like on the box.

Flavor: The package states this dish is mildly spiced. I agree.  It has a very delicate flavor.

Texture: The chicken and noodles were dry. The vegetables were rubbery.

Overall Impression: Overall I was not really impressed with the lack of spice in this dish, and the fact that it was horrible texturally. I will not buy this one again.

Leave a Reply

