Impromptu Sewing!

Standard

Yesterday I had plans. At the last minute those plans changed. So, I decided I would make myself a new skirt. Without a pattern. Just start cutting and sewing and figure it out as I went. Here’s the result:

It’s a simple straight skirt made from some vintage jersey fabric. LOVE the print! I made a high waistband out of the fabric, also. I need to take it in just a bit, though, so I did not photograph it.

Here’s the side profile:

Slightly closer shot. Isn’t that print just AWESOME?!

All together it probably took me about an hour and a half to make it. Even including my time fixing my mistakes along the way. I am so pleased with this. And my wardrobe just got much prettier!

Fabric: Late 1960s or Early 1970s Synthetic Jersey

Source: Selvedge Shop

8 responses »

  1. Relynn,
    This is a cool blog site. Thanks so much for sharing it with me and the rest of the PGRD crew! I want to learn to sew so bad and really need to make time to learn. It’s going to make the biggest difference in these tough economic times.

    I’m going to make sure I follow you too;-)

    • Thanks! I wish you the best with learning to sew. Trust me, if I can learn anybody can. Patience and getting rid of perfectionism are really the keys to learning.

Leave a Reply

