Tim Gunn Sew Along!

Standard

One of my goals for this year was to improve my wardrobe.  I’ve decided to take a step toward that by joining the Tim Gunn Sew Along on PatternReview.com  The idea is to make items from his list, found here, that outlines 10 wardrobe staples that every woman should have.

Here’s my plan (ambitious, and might take me years to finish) for my wardrobe staples:

1. Little Black Brown Dress – Simplicity 2648 (have pattern)

The fabric for this dress (the one on the model) has been ordered.  I’ll be making it in a chocolate brown cotton sateen.

2. Trench – Already own the one below, but I need to alter it to fit me better.

3. Dress Pants – Vogue 8131 Out of Print (have pattern)

Either I will do the pair in the bottom right corner, or I’ll use Simplicity 2562 (have pattern).

4. Classic Shirt – Vogue 8598

or Simplicity 2339, the version on the bottom of the picture, first on the left

5. Jeans – Vogue 1034

6. Any Occasion Top – Vogue 9771

7. Skirt – Simplicity 2475 without the faux pockets

8. Day Dress – Vogue 8613

I already have the fabric for this (originally purchased for another dress) which is brown with a cream rose print and it has copper threads woven into the fabric.  Very pretty fabric!

9. Jacket – Vogue 8333

or Simplicity 2446

10. Sweatsuit Alternative – Vogue 8656

*Trendy Item – I’m thinking a trendy sundress for spring/summer, but I haven’t decided on a pattern yet, and a sweater dress for fall/winter.

Here’s the sweater dress I want to make:

It should be interesting to knit since I’ll have to translate the pattern from Finnish to English.

4 responses »

  1. I like those Vogue pants you picked out!!!

    The shirt looks nice as well; the reason why I want to go with the Simplicity is because it has a back yoke as well as seeming to be closer to David Coffin’s “classic shirt” description.

    We must have similar taste because I have that Claire Schaffer jacket pattern at home too!

    Your day dress pick also looks lovely!

    • Thanks! I have an hourglass figure, so I tend to choose clothing that skims my curves, and I like classic – sometimes retro – styles. I might end up doing both the Vogue and Simplicity shirts. I like the Vogue one for the princess seams, but the back yoke on the Simplicity is awesome, too.

  2. Pingback: Tim Gunn Essential Interpretations « Three Phat Ladies

Leave a Reply

