Ironically Appropriate

Standard

While eating my breakfast, after the kids were safely on the bus to school and I had the house to myself and Boris (the neurotic cat), I decided to get online and chat with my Bill and check out facebook.  Well, lo and behold, my former high school science teacher posted this picture and story on her wall:

It was the coldest winter ever. Many animals died because of the cold. The porcupines, realizing the situation, decided to group together. This way, they covered and protected themselves; but, the quills of each one wounded their closest companions even though they gave off heat to each other.

After awhile, they decided to distance themselves one from the other and they began to die, alone and frozen.

So, they had to make a choice: either accept the quills of their companions or disappear from the Earth. Wisely, they decided to go back to being together.

This way, they learned to live with the little wounds that were caused by the close relationship with their companion, but the most important part of it, was the heat that came from the others.

Therefore:
The best relationship is not the one that brings together perfect people, but the best is when each individual learns to live with the imperfections of others and can admire the other person’s good qualities.

The Moral of the story: LEARN TO LOVE THE PRICKS IN YOUR LIFE!
__._,_.___

And I just about died laughing!  What makes it so ironically appropriate is that just yesterday Bill and I were being major pricks to each other.  It happens from time to time.  We get along great then we wake up one morning ready to snap at the first infraction.  Yeah, we’re perfect for each other like that.  lol  Anyways… it was dealt with before bed and I believe we’re back to good now, but we are each other’s favorite a-holes.  And we openly admit it to each other on a fairly regular basis.  Just too close to home to see that this morning.  I love it and just had to share with EVERYONE!  I hope you can love your favorite prick in spite of him or her today!

6 responses »

  1. And I’m so glad you snatched it from me as it allowed me to find your blog!! Way kewl. So how does it feel to now be on a peer basis with your former teachers? When I first started teaching in WV I taught with teachers who had taught me. It was so weird at first to be interacting with them as colleagues instead of student/teacher.

    • I love it! I started doing the peer relationship with my professors as I finished their classes. I found that during the class we became more equals than student/teacher, especially in the nursing courses, as they are training me to be what they are. Being in touch with you, Mrs. Slagle and Mr. Bailey is wonderful to me. I love you guys and I’m so happy I can still have you all in my life! Tell the coach I said hello! And let him know I’m jealous of him being able to go fishing today. It’s the PERFECT day in Maryland to be outside playing.

  2. Okay, that is a cute picture.

    And it is so true.. We are both pricks at times, but we love each other in spite (and sometimes because) of that.

    Love You!

Leave a Reply

